Sponsored Links
Georgia Stars
Flush Baseball
Georgia Jackets
Cherokee Batting Range
Forsyth Grizzlies - Georgia Octane
Team Insurance
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 NWBA Forums
 Ump's Corner
 You make the call....#17

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

   
   

T O P I C    R E V I E W
WestCoastGuru Posted - 10/15/2012 : 08:17:56
Runners on 1st and 2nd, with one out.....line drive back to the pitcher, who has to reach for the ball, in the process the pitcher's glove comes off his hand, and falls to the ground, but the ball is still secured in the glove. What's your call, blue?
2   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
in_the_know Posted - 10/15/2012 : 16:04:21
MLB Rule 2.00 defines terms and a "Catch" is defined as "the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following his contact with the ball, he collides with a player, or with a wall, or if he falls down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drops the ball. It is not a catch if a fielder touches a fly ball which then hits a member of the offensive team or an umpire and then is caught by another defensive player. In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball and that his releas of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

So, in the case of the glove separating from the player, the player would not have proven that he has complete control of the ball, nor was his release voluntary, so it should not be ruled a catch. The key is that the FIELDER must prove secure possession of the ball, which he has not done in this case.
NGBSA-Suwanee Posted - 10/15/2012 : 14:29:22
Well it wouldn't be an INFIELD FLY... I would say NO CATCH! No possession of the ball, but congratulate him on a nice effort.

Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA © 2000-22 NWBA Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000