|
Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply. To register, click here. Registration is FREE!
|
T O P I C R E V I E W |
nastycurve |
Posted - 07/06/2013 : 17:47:19 15u baseball:
A pitcher is throwing a great game on the hill, as is his counterpart. Its a 1-0 game going into the 5th inning, with this pitcher leading. In the bottom of the inning, as this pitcher's team is batting, he is pulled for a pinch hitter who doubles in a run. As the inning comes to a close, the coach announces that he will reinsert his starter for the pinch hitter and send him back to the mound. The opposing coach made an argument that the starter was pulled out of the game and therefore was ineligible to come back and pitch, the pitcher's coach argued that the player never played defense and therefore could come back to pitch.
I wasn't able to hang around to see the outcome, so I figured I'd throw it out and give us something to talk about. |
3 L A T E S T R E P L I E S (Newest First) |
AllStar |
Posted - 07/08/2013 : 14:34:22 quote: Originally posted by jacjacatk
Reasonably sure under straight HS rules, which most 14u and up tournaments play or offer as a lineup/substitution choice, this is a legal re-entry. A lot of tournament organizations do have additional pitching rules which would prevent this, in which case the pitcher would still be able to re-enter, just not on the mound defensively.
Whether the PH plays defense or not has no bearing on the HS rules. AFAIK, the pitcher could pitch the first 3 innings, sit the next 3, and close his own game if the coaches wanted to do it that way (not great for the kids' health, though).
I believe that this is all correct. |
jacjacatk |
Posted - 07/06/2013 : 21:32:14 Reasonably sure under straight HS rules, which most 14u and up tournaments play or offer as a lineup/substitution choice, this is a legal re-entry. A lot of tournament organizations do have additional pitching rules which would prevent this, in which case the pitcher would still be able to re-enter, just not on the mound defensively.
Whether the PH plays defense or not has no bearing on the HS rules. AFAIK, the pitcher could pitch the first 3 innings, sit the next 3, and close his own game if the coaches wanted to do it that way (not great for the kids' health, though). |
in_the_know |
Posted - 07/06/2013 : 18:43:21 It depends on the governing body of the tournament. Some expressly state that a pitcher removed from a game cannot return to the mound. Other organizations do not specify. If the former, the player could re-enter, however not as a pitcher and would have to assume another fielding position. If the latter, then he could re-enter as a pitcher. |
|
|
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA |
© 2000-22 NWBA |
 |
|
|