Sponsored Links
Georgia Stars
Forsyth Grizzlies - Georgia Octane
Georgia Jackets
Cherokee Batting Range
Flush Baseball
Team Insurance
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 NWBA Forums
 General Discussion
 Pitching with both arms Rules

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

   
   

T O P I C    R E V I E W
toprank Posted - 03/08/2011 : 08:08:52
Does anyone know the rules for a player can pitch with both arms? Always wondered how tournaments rules affect the ambidextrous pitchers?
We haven't seen or faced any but always curious about the rules.
10   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
PATbb Posted - 03/17/2011 : 11:38:00
Switch Hitter VS Switch Pitcher

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2oD8KzxS14&feature=related
itsaboutbb Posted - 03/16/2011 : 00:57:12
quote:
Originally posted by bballman

I really don't know what the rule is for NCAA, HS and below, but I know the MLB made a rule that you can only switch which arm you throw with one time per batter. This was to prevent a situation where an ambedextrious pitcher and switch hitter kept switching back and forth over and over. Maybe an actual ump can come on here and explain the rule. All I did was stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8U2xkHOTvvw
coachdan06 Posted - 03/14/2011 : 01:06:45
That is incredible !

quote:
Originally posted by stixxbaseball10

We had a kid last year throw from both sides.

davidh6265 Posted - 03/09/2011 : 00:32:41
Rule 8.01
(f) A pitcher must indicate visually to the umpire-in-chief, the batter and any runners
the hand with which he intends to pitch, which may be done by wearing his glove
on the other hand while touching the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher is not permitted
to pitch with the other hand until the batter is retired, the batter becomes a runner,
the inning ends, the batter is substituted for by a pinch-hitter or the pitcher incurs
an injury. In the event a pitcher switches pitching hands during an at-bat because
he has suffered an injury, the pitcher may not, for the remainder of the game,
pitch with the hand from which he has switched. The pitcher shall not be given
the opportunity to throw any preparatory pitches after switching pitching hands.
Any change of pitching hands must be indicated clearly to the umpire-in-chief.
bballman Posted - 03/08/2011 : 12:48:22
I really don't know what the rule is for NCAA, HS and below, but I know the MLB made a rule that you can only switch which arm you throw with one time per batter. This was to prevent a situation where an ambedextrious pitcher and switch hitter kept switching back and forth over and over. Maybe an actual ump can come on here and explain the rule. All I did was stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.
momshell Posted - 03/08/2011 : 12:17:29
My righty pitcher son is working on pitching lefty(he switch hits already) and asked me this last night. What about pitching with different arms during the same inning? If he can do this, then I guess the innings he is allowed to pitch should remain the same.
stixxbaseball10 Posted - 03/08/2011 : 12:16:39
You can pitch from both sides in one inning without a pitching change but you have to declare which arm you are throwing with before each batter steps in the batters box. You are not allowed to change during an at bat. Innings pitched would count as normal. We had a kid last year throw from both sides.
in_the_know Posted - 03/08/2011 : 11:13:30
Makes sense, you only have one ball at a time

quote:
Originally posted by CoachDad

I believe that it's commonly accepted that you can only use one arm at a time.

CoachDad Posted - 03/08/2011 : 10:56:26
I believe that it's commonly accepted that you can only use one arm at a time.
Alter-Ego Posted - 03/08/2011 : 09:03:59
Because tournament pitching rules are set up as "Innings pitched by player" and not "Pitch count" regardless of whether the player used one arm, or both, the same number of innings would be allowed.

Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA © 2000-22 NWBA Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000